Welcome to Spencer
Spanish Welcome
City Manager
City Clerk/Treasurer
City Council Meetings
FAQ for Participation
Public Participation Form
Utility & Public Works
Economic Development
Parks Advisory Board
Planning Commission
Senior Citizen's Board
Contact Us
Community Information
Unity Day Street Festival
Public Schools
Police Department
Municipal Court
Code Enforcement
August Newsletter
September Newsletter
October Newsletter
November Newsletter
December Newsletter
January Newsletter
February Newsletter
March 2007 Newsletter
April 2007 Newsletter
City Services
Spencer Map
Record Request
Citizen Service Request
Notice of Intent
e-mail me


Storm Water Management


In 1990 the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) promulgated regulations for establishing water quality based municipal storm water programs to address storm runoff from certain industrial and construction activities and from medium and large municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s) serving populations of 100,000 or greater. These “Phase I” regulations were incorporated into the existing National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit rules that address point source dischargers. As a result, urban non point source runoff became regulated as a point source. On December 8, 1999, EPA published final regulations that address urban storm water runoff from cities under 100,000 population and counties that lie within the Urbanized Area as defined by the latest US Bureau of Census designation. These “Phase II” cities and counties must develop comprehensive Storm Water Management Program that addresses six “Minimum Control Measures” (MCMs).


These are:


·        Public Education and Outreach

·        Public Participation and Involvement

·        Illicit Discharge Detection and Elimination

·        Construction Site Storm Water Runoff Control

·        Post Construction Management in New Development and Re-Development.

·        Pollution Prevention and Good Housekeeping.


The Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality (ODEQ) presently has primary jurisdiction over permitting and enforcement of the Phase II Storm Water Program for Oklahoma. The ODEQ has developed a General Permit (OKR04) for “Phase II Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System Discharges for Small Cities within the State of Oklahoma.” The Phase II regulations require that the regulated community submit a Notice of Intent (NOI) to apply for coverage under the Oklahoma Storm water General Permit (OKR04) along with a Storm Water Management Program document (SWMP) that specifies, for each MCM, what activities will be performed (Best Management Practices- BMPs), along with schedules and measurable goals for each BMP.

|Welcome to Spencer| |Spanish Welcome| |City Manager| |City Clerk/Treasurer| |City Council Meetings| |FAQ for Participation| |Public Participation Form| |Utility & Public Works| |Economic Development| |Parks Advisory Board | |Planning Commission| |Senior Citizen's Board| |Contact Us| |Community Information| |Unity Day Street Festival| |Public Schools| |Police Department| |Employment| |Municipal Court| |Code Enforcement| |August Newsletter| |September Newsletter| |October Newsletter| |November Newsletter| |December Newsletter| |January Newsletter| |February Newsletter| |March 2007 Newsletter| |April 2007 Newsletter| |City Services | |Spencer Map| |Guestbook| |Record Request| |Citizen Service Request | |TORT CLAIM FORM| |Notice of Intent | |News|